New Race4 in Kenya Safari Rally 2013

Organisers of the East African Safari Classic Rally have announced that a new charity will bring a six-car Porsche team on the 2013 event.

Titled Race4Health, the group is the brainchild of David von Schinkel, a Swedish entrepreneur and Porsche fan well versed in motorsport management. The team recently held a launch event and charity auction in Stockholm which raised a staggering £150,000 ($240,000) for the team’s charities.

Repeating the rally-winning formula established by Race4Change on the 2011 Safari, Tuthill Porsche will again provide its fast, reliable Porsche 911s for a team of drivers including our 2011 winner Bjorn Waldegard and another world champion, Stig Blomqvist. Race4Change founder and charitable visionary, Steven Funk, offered his best wishes to the Race4Health campaign.

“I am impressed and gratified that others have taken such bold steps to make themselves more than just racers this year.  I hope we can say Race4Change had a small part in that with our team, Bjorn included, last time around.”

Surinder Thatthi, organiser of the East African Safari Classic Rally also expressed his gratitude to Race4Change for their groundbreaking charitable efforts on the last two Safari Classic events. “Steven Funk and Race4Change were the pioneers in combining the rally entry with charity. Steve did well for our event in many ways and we do thank him.”

Keep up with all the rally news on the Ferdinand Porsche Magazine & Daily News Blog.

About John Glynn

John Glynn is the owner of Ferdinand Porsche Magazine and resident Race4Change media expert & blogger. John owns five classic Porsche cars and knows the Porsche scene inside out. Check out his articles on the Ferdinand Porsche Blog at
This entry was posted in R4C Rally Cars, Race4Change News! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>